The Daughters of Madurai

$30

Rajasree Variyar | Paperback | May 2023

 

The heart-wrenching, thought-provoking book club debut of 2023

Oh my goodness. If I could give this book 6 stars out of 5 I would'  

'One of those books that will stay with me for years and decades to come...'  

'Grabbed my heart and wouldn't let go!' 

'A joy to read' 

ONE OF COSMOPOLITAN'S BEST BOOK TO LOOK FORWARD TO IN 2023 

*** 

'A girl is a burden. A girl is a curse.' 

Madurai, 1992. A young mother in a poor family, Janani is told she is useless if she can't produce a son - or worse, bears daughters. They let her keep her first baby girl, but the rest are taken away as soon as they are born - murdered before they have a chance to live. The fate of her children has never been in her hands. But Janani can't forget the daughters she was never allowed to love.  

Sydney, 2019. Nila has a secret, one she's been keeping from her parents for far too long. Before she can say anything, her grandfather in India falls ill and she agrees to join her parents on a trip to Madurai - the first in over ten years. Growing up in Australia, Nila knows very little about where she or her family came from, or who they left behind. What she's about to learn will change her forever...

Perfect for fans of Christy Lefteri and Delia Owens, The Daughters of Madurai is a moving and powerful debut from an unforgettable new voice.

 

Country: India

 

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

You may also like

Recently viewed