After The Forest

$33

Kell Woods | Paperback | October 2023

The unforgettable magical historical fantasy 2023 debut novel perfect for readers of Naomi Novik, Katherine Arden and Emilia Hart

The stunning historical fantasy taking the world by storm

'Deliciously irresistible' Natasha Lester

'Historical fantasy at its best' Belinda Alexandra

'Utterly enchanting' Kate Forsyth

'Bewitching ... Woods is a powerful new voice in speculative fiction' Publishers Weekly starred review

Ginger. Honey. Cinnamon. Flour.

A drop of blood to bind its power.

1650: The Black Forest, Wurttemberg. Fifteen years after the witch in the gingerbread house, Greta and Hans are struggling to get by. Their father and stepmother are long dead, Hans is deeply in debt from gambling, and the countryside lies in ruin, its people recovering in the aftermath of a brutal war.

Greta has a secret, though: the witch's grimoire, secreted away and whispering in her ear, and the recipe inside that makes the most sinfully delicious - and addictive - gingerbread. As long as she can bake, Greta can keep her small family afloat.

But in a village full of superstition, Greta and her intoxicating gingerbread is a source of ever-growing suspicion and vicious gossip.

And now, dark magic is returning to the woods and Greta's own power - magic she is still trying to understand - may be the only thing that can save her ...

PRAISE FOR AFTER THE FOREST

'Bewitching historical fantasy ... Woods is a powerful new voice in speculative fiction' starred review, Publishers Weekly (US)

'A dark and wondrous tale. Utterly enchanting' Kate Forsyth, bestselling author of The Crimson Thread

'Deliciously irresistible ... A gorgeous debut that you'll consume in one gulp' Natasha Lester, New York Time bestselling author of The Three Lives of Alix St Pierre

'Evocative, vivid and enchanting: Historical fantasy at its best' Belinda Alexandra, bestselling author of The French Agent

'Utterly captivating ... Dark as molasses and dripping with witchcraft, love and magic gingerbread' Lauren Chater, bestselling author of The Winter Dress

'A love song to fairy tales ... Sweet as gingerbread and bitterly dark as heart's blood' Angela Slatter, award-winning author of The Path of Thorns

'Woods is a born storyteller ... Sophisticated and intricately plotted' Jo Riccioni, award-winning author of The Branded and The Rising

If it doesn't kill her first.

 -----------------

Author Info

Kell Woods is an Australian historical fantasy author. She lives near the sea with her husband, two sons, and the most beautiful black cat in the realm.

Kell studied English Literature, creative writing and librarianship, so she could always be surrounded by stories. She has worked in libraries for the past twelve years, all the while writing about made-up (and not so made-up) places, people and things you might remember from the fairy tales you read as a child.

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

You may also like

Recently viewed